The Beginning

Hello internets, my name is Steven.  I am a Marlins fan, for some
reason, and I have started this blog to begin to let loose my
complaints as the Marlins slowly slide down the NL East standings and
trade everyone before they become arbitration eligible.  I also need an
outlet for my creativity (so says a few people…) and hey why not make
a blog?  It’s not like anyone will be reading this… it’s a blog.  No
one reads blogs.  I recall a conversation with a friend a few years ago:

friend:  “So did you read my blog last night about my date with Sarah?”
me: “God no.  You have awful grammar and I can just talk to you in person.  How did it go?”
friend:  “Well if you read my blog, you would know.”

We aren’t friends anymore.

Anyway here is a quick run down in case you are lost and looking for
fantasy stats for Rich Harden or Mark Teixeira’s second half numbers. 
I am a recent graduate from the University of Florida.  I wrote for the
wildly popular “Thecroc.org” eZine, which by popular I mean “no one
outside of the honors dorm or the direct families of the writers knew
about it.”  I recently moved up to East Lansing, Michigan to be with my
girlfriend and get a job.  Hopefully I will get a job soon (not easy
when you have a degree in geography) and then I can do this blog at
work.  My girlfriend is a Tigers fan and so is her family.  That makes
it easy for me to talk to them seeing as how the Tigers are basically
made of former Marlins (Perhaps an entry to be done later…)  As for
being a Marlins fan.  Well internets, let me tell you something.  Being
a Marlins fan is like being in a relationship with a dingo.  You may
like it, but it doesn’t really acknowledge your existance and it
doesn’t speak english.  How does that make sense?  Well the Marlins
always trade everyone before they deserve to make more than minimum
wage regardless of fan support (see: Jeff Conine or Cliff Floyd) and
they don’t speak english (if they did then they wouldn’t survive in
south Florida).

So anyway i will continue to update the woes and complaints mostly
daily.  Like I said, this is an outlet for me.  Plus I’m bored.  My
girlfriend is in Australia right now, I haven’t met too many new people
and I haven’t found the good bars here.  At least I can watch the
Marlins on MLBTV (definitely going to be an entry on that).

Anyway, Go Fish.

Leave a comment